What I thought about tonight’s performances:

Lacey and Kamerson’s hustle: blah. I don’t understand why everyone goes so gaga over these two. Oh, maybe it’s the fact that they totally pander to everyone with all their goofy antics and the “sexy” outfits they put Lacey in.

Shauna and Cedric’s Mambo. Horrible! I think the judges are starting to compliment Cedric as a ploy to get fewer people to take sympathy to call in and vote for him, either that or they have no clue what they’re talking about. As usual, Alex Da Silva’s choreography was full of gimmicky tricks and showed almost no basic. The few times they were doing basic, I was trying to figure out what they were dancing on– sometimes, 1, sometimes 2, sometimes 3, sometimes 7.65. In other words, no sense of rhythm. Mambo is by definition danced on the 2, and in practice it looked like he was teaching on the 1. Watching them do the shine was just painful. As a mambo dancer, I am obviously going to be harsher on a poor performance than with the other styles, but I could find very little to like here. In fact, I winced every time I glanced at the TV screen. I think these two should go home tomorrow.

Anya and Danny’s Contemporary. Anya dances with wonderful emotion and Danny’s technique is incredible, but his lack of emotion left me wanting more.

Sabra and Dominic’s Hip-hop. Incredible and sensitive choreography by Shane Sparks, executed with perfect technique, timing and emotion. One of the best performances of the night.

Jaime and Hok’s Waltz. I have no idea why the judges tore into them on this. Maybe I just don’t know enough about walts, but emotionally, it was one of the best performances tonight. They just floated across the floor and I actually got chills watching it.

Lauren and Neil’s Jazz. They did a great job with what they were given but despite my praise for Wade Robso’s choreography two weeks ago, I felt like I’ve seen this exact same choreography two times before (the zombie routine from last season and the midnight cabaret from this season’s top 20 episode) and I’m starting to get bored of it.

