My dear friend who happens to be a librarian has found a number of salsa-related books and encouraged me to start a dance book club on my blog. Here are her first suggested selections for us– all salsa themed.

Emily Goldberg Learns to Salsa by Micol Ostow

Adventures of a Salsa Goddess by Joann Hornak.

“Plus,” says my friend, “that weird old teen novel about ballet and salsa that I forgot to give you.” (I’ll keep y’all posted when I get more intel on that one)

Amazon also suggested that I might like Faith in Carlos Gomez by Samantha Dunn.

So, here’s how it works. I’ll eventually get around to reading these (just as soon as I’ve gotten through Harry Potter and The World Is Flat) and then I will post to let you know what I think. Meanwhile, if anyone wants to read it as well and discuss, by all means do so. I’ve actually just finished reading Eat Pray Love, which, although it is not directly dance related, gave me a lot of food for thought about my own emotional and spiritual development and how that all connects to my dancing. I’ll plan to post something on that soon.

Finally, if you have suggestions for my “dance book club”, please post them in the comments. As it is summer, I’m only really interested in beach blanket appropriate books. Those of you who are feeling a little more highbrown can head on down to The Winger’s reading group.

