I went to my first ballet class in ages last night and found it extremely relaxing and edifying. Granted it was a class for real beginners, but it gave me the needed ego boost of realizing that my technique has indeed improved quite a bit from all those months of modern classes. That’s significant because the only ballet I’ve taken is a low-quality community education course and lessons when I was 5 after which my dance education was interrupted until my 20s. The slowness of the barre exercises really let me work through each aspect of each exercise. I still hate frappes, though. Thank god we don’t have to do that in my other classes.

I’m not being facetious when I ask, what is the purpose of the barre? In modern we don’t use it and it forces you to find your center, strength, and balance. It feels like an unnecessary crutch to me but maybe I’m not understanding its purpose. Any ballet experts out there who want to enlighten me?

