In the modern dance class that I have been laboring away at for the past 9 months or so, I have never once considered myself a model student. Sure, I have the warmup down pat now, but it’s still a struggle. I have become good friends with the best student in the class and strategically position myself close to her and ask her tons of questions.

To my surprise, a student who was new to the class whispered to me halfway through the warmup that he had me in his line of sight because he could tell I knew what I was doing. The initial thrill and satisfaction of this comment quickly gave way to horror as I realized that I now had someone relying on me to get the moves right. Even more so after we started doing the combination and I saw that he was a clearly an advanced dancer who was doing the combo so much better than me.

I never thought I’d say this, but I’m not ready for compliments yet!!

