I cannot believe it, but I made a very important omission from my blog love post yesterday. I had a rough day at work followed by two glasses of wine with dinner last night so I am going to blame it on that.

I also want to send a big heap of blog love to Boris Willis at Dance a Day.

This is just an awe-inspiring blog for me. Boris goes out every single day and films himself dancing in various environments around Washington. Sometimes it is just him and the camera– no music, one long shot. Other videos have music and/or interesting editing added in. In some of the videos, he has “cloned” himself with multiple shots superimposed on each other. Some of them work better than others, but the bottom line for me is that he is doing something very pure and courageous. It’s not that he doesn’t notice or care about what the people around him think, in fact, he fully acknowledges when something felt awkward, but he does it anyway. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know I struggle with some confidence issues when it comes to my dancing, and his approach of putting things out there even when he’s not feeling 100% about it is hugely inspirational.

The different people, places and configurations of the locations influence Boris’ dances. I think Boris is also challenging some of my assumptions about what dance is. Sometimes the dance involves very little movement and the stillness itself is the dance. Maybe I’m over-interpreting, but I think what he’s trying to say is that all movement or non-movement can be dance and that we can find beauty and interest in all of our existence.

