LOVE LOVE LOVEI just realized that my last post was the 100th post on A Time to Dance. I really had no idea that I would have 100 different things to share with the world in the space of just three and a half months. If you know me in person, you know I have the gift of the gab, and apparently I can write just as much as I can talk. It’s been a lot of fun and I’ve enjoyed exchanging ideas about dance with all my blogosphere friends. Thanks for reading and thanks for all your comments!

In honor of what is now my 101st post, I’m updating my avatar (the little picture that appears when I leave a comment on a wordpress blog). It comes from the Cha Cha Cha stamp issued by the US Post Office. I always come back to this image when I think about how salsa makes me feel. Back in the day, when it only cost 37 cents to mail a 1st class letter (ahem, that would be September 2005,  2 long years ago), the USPS came out with its best collection of stamps ever. I love them all because they depict various forms of latin dance in a positive and authentic way. When the average uninformed member of the public thinks of salsa, thisNOT salsa might be the image that comes up:

This whole business of the fake passion, the man “ravishing” the woman, and the spandex outfits give me the heebie jeebies.

The cha cha stamp, on the other hand, depicts a woman with slightly sweaty hair who is totally grooving to her own little cha cha shine. Her attire is fresh and sophisticated, and she wears a flower in her hair. Her eyes are closed as she soaks in the moment and makes a hand-to-hand connection to her partner (also looking dapper in a white linen suit and hat). Her hair and necklace are suspended in mid-air, showing the movement of the dancer. I found out who the artist is behind the Cha Cha Cha stamp. His name is Edel Rodriquez, and he has a blog. Thanks Edel for making such a beautiful, positive, and inspiring image of a dance that I deeply love.

