I saw an ad in the City Paper for the 23rd Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards– a full-page, color ad on the inside of the back cover. It says to go to http://www.dcarts.dc.gov/ to receive a nomination form or for more information, but as of today the only information I could find was about last year’s awards. Typical of DC government, but still, you’d think they could at least update their website if they’re sinking all that money into print ads.

Nomination categories are:

  • Excellence in an Artistic Discipline,
  • Outstanding Emerging Artist,
  • Excellence in Service to the Arts,
  • Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education,
  • Innovation in the Arts.

Nominations are due December 4. I suppose you can check with the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities website later on to see if they have provided the nomination materials.

What do people think of the value of these types of awards?

Is dance well-represented in the nominations?

Who would you nominate?

My vote for Education goes to Joy of Motion. It’s an organization that has played a singular role in allowing me to develop my dance ability and expand my dance community during my time in DC. They provide such a variety of styles, schedules, and locations that works really well if you are a working adult. The classes are affordable and there are a number of world-class instructors. I think we are really lucky to have them here.

