It’s not until something goes wrong that I fully appreciate each little part of my body and each day of good health. On Wednesday night, I dislocated the big toe on my left foot.

I had learned how to do a handstand for the first time in my life earlier in the week, and had gone a little overboard in practicing it since I was so thrilled about my new skill. (I was even going to dedicate a post to my new ability, but this wasn’t what I’d envisioned!!). I was tired and fell down at a bad angle, hitting my foot on the wall.

I immediately knew something was wrong because the toe was at a very strange angle and hurt like nothing I’ve ever felt. After looking at the Xrays, the doctor told me that I was very lucky because I didn’t break the toe– just dislocated it. She injected my toe with anaesthetic and popped it back in. Luckily, I should be dancing again in about 2-3 weeks. But that is also a long time not to be dancing, and I know it will take some time for me to get back into shape.

The timing is bad– I was also supposed to go to NY this weekend to take classes at Alvin Ailey with a friend who is leaving the country. This is my second injury this year before a big dance weekend. In August, I sliced my thumb open right before a salsa congress!

The timing was appropriate something else, though– the day after, I got a rejection letter in the mail for a show I’d auditioned for. The rejection itself didn’t surprise me– it was a very long shot for me. But now I can say that I wouldn’t have been able to heal in time to rehearse sufficiently for the show.

