It’s now been ten days since I dislocated my big toe. I graduated to real shoes the day before yesterday, meaning I don’t have to wear what I like to call my sexy shoe anymore, and can get around in sneakers or other roomy, sensible, flat shoes.

I went to yoga class on Thursday and made it through with some one-legged down dogs and skipping the toe stands. I’m not ready for dance class yet. As we speak, my friend Y. is gallivanting around NYC, taking classes at Alvin Ailey on her fun dance weekend that I was supposed to go on too. Sigh.

Today P. and I went to the shopping outlet, and I thought I’d get a pair of ballet flats as most of my work shoes are heels. Turns out the toe is still too swollen to fit into normal, snug fitting shoes. I love shoes, I really love them, so this is hard for me. Sniff.  I shouldn’t complain too much– I’m lucky that I have my health and that this is only a temporary setback.

One thing I learned first-hand during my handicap was how truly rude people on the DC metro are. I have witnessed the insensitivity of others before when seeing hugely pregnant women, elderly, and handicapped folks get on the train. I’m not old-fashioned or anything, but I have almost never seen a man offer his seat to someone on the metro. Inevitably it is always a woman who does so (and I try to count myself among those). Last week, I got on and it was a crowded train. All the young, able-bodied men immediately raised their newspapers over their faces. After 10 minutes of struggling to keep myself steady on one foot in the jerky train, an older woman (probably in her 70s) offered her seat to me. I was appalled that it had come to that!! Where is the civility in this city? That nice woman probably needed her seat more than me and yet no one else on the train could be bothered to stand for a couple stops.

