A couple weeks ago I went to the happy hour at Gazuza that Dance Metro/DC organized. It was one of my first non-anonymous forays into the DC dance community as a blogger and I met a lot of interesting people. I also got to meet Boris in person, which was a thrill.

Among them were Cedric Tillman and Kenneth Rascher of EchoPark Contemporary Ballet. Cedric has recently moved back to DC after many years working in various places (primarily Europe) and finding his identity as a choreographer, and is already making quite an impression.

I was thrilled to hear the news that Cedric and Kenneth (who is handling the business side of things) were in the process of looking for their own studio. Not only would it be the company’s home, but he was also planning to offer classes there. This is exciting news for me because there are hardly enough good modern dance teachers in this town, and virtually no contemporary ballet. Also, based on this review (loved the dancing, an all-star company, hated the venue), it sounds like this is a much needed development for Echo Park, rehearsal and performance-wise.

I recently got an update that they have found a space in Takoma Park and intend to have it ready at the end of this month/early next month. A fundraiser is being planned and some new pieces are already in the works. Part of me is selfishly disappointed that they didn’t go with the other location they were considering in Georgetown. I say selfishly because it is much more convenient for me; but I promise to make the trek out to Takoma for class!

I’ve also read about the company’s doings on company member Shallom’s blog, Moving Space and Time, which is also where I found this video of a piece choreographed by Cedric Tillman for a performance back in November (for which I was regrettably out of town).

The dancers are Shallom Johnson and Kelly Mayfield.

