I recently saw Silk Stockings again, a 1957 film starring Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse. With a humorous script and countless great dance numbers, it’s one of my favorites. Since I first saw her in Singin’ in the Rain, Cyd Charisse has been my favorite dancer from the golden age of Hollywood musical films– my muse, if you will. Silk Stockings in particular showcases her dancing ability, and those gorgeous legs.

In this number, Ninotcha (Charisse), a Soviet spy, gives into her temptation to taste the decadent sartorial delights of Paris.

here is the second part of the number

In this scene, Ninotcha and her fellow former spies relive their love for the joyous Parisian life in their shared Soviet digs.

It’s a pity that there aren’t any musicals like this any more. By that, I mean that musicals from this time had long, uninterrupted shots of the dance numbers so you could really appreciate the choreography and the skill of the dancer. Dance movies today are edited MTV-style, with cuts every 5 seconds or so. As a result, the quality of the dance is less the ability of the dancer or the choreography, and more in the editing.

