$12/hr to be a grantwriter, fundraiser, marketing and operations coordinator?

I understand money is tight in the dance world, but this is insulting. I should mention that this position was posted in New York City, one of the most expensive places to live in the world. Also, calling the person who is tasked with doing all of the above an “Adminstrative Assistant” is demeaning.

I’ve read that non-profit management skills of dance companies leave much to be desired, and no wonder. You get what you pay for. I got a masters degree to become an expert at the above skills.

 As Mr. P says, “if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.”

Is this common practice? I don’t work in dance admin so maybe it’s not surprising for others, but as someone who has worked for non-profit and public institutions for years, I for one am surprised. You would not pay a grantwriter so little unless they were an intern.

