My favorite DC event starts today. The 2008 Smithsonian Folklife Festival starts today and ends July 6 on the National Mall. Each year, the festival showcases three cultures and the individuals that keep their folkways alive. Traditional crafts, foodways, social and economic traditions, music, and of course, dance are demonstrated by those that practice them on a daily basis.

This year’s themes are Bhutan, NASA (how is that a culture?….I guess I’ll find out), and Texas. I’ll be particularly interested in learnining about traditional Bhutanese dance, and checking out the Tejano music and dance. The close proximity of my office to the festival all gives me the opportunity to try out the food on my lunch break.

The festival’s schedule is available here. If you are in DC or within driving distance, this is worth the trip! A number of videos are available here if you can’t make it down or want to preview the festival and each theme.

