I’m going through a time when there are priorities in my life that compete with dance; that at this time are more important than dance. I’m still dancing, but I’m not aggressively pursuing improvement or perfection. I know I will go back to dancing more when this period is over. My body’s a little mad at me. There are more aches and stiffness. I’m a little pudgier. Maybe a little lazier, physically. Less inspired to write about dance.

There is so much at stake in this election. If I’m not doing what I can to get rid of cynicism, mean-spritedness, and wasteful spending (I’m talking about an unnecessary, expensive foreign occupation, the public expense of having so many of our citizens uninsured, and tax loopholes for the wealthiest individuals and corporations), I will regret that I did not do what I could. There will always be a time to dance in the in between times and when this election is over.

