I just got back from seeing the Washington National Opera‘s The Pearl Fishers and am still floating from the experience. I had not seen an opera in years, and what a way to get back in on it! This production was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. The true star of the show was Brit designer Zandra Rhodes who designed the stunning costumes and sets. It was the perfect backdrop to the sensual, passionate, colorful experience that was The Pearl Fishers. Norah Amsellem as Leila, Charles Castonovo as Nadir, and Trevor Scheunemann all gave standout, nuanced performances and the trio had true chemistry. I got goosebumps when they sang Au fond du temple saint, which has got to be one of the most beautiful duets of all time, period.

There was also dancing! Lots of it! Imaginatively choreographed by John Malashock, the dancers played a prominent role in setting the scenes and telling the backstories.

I have to give a special mention to WNO’s Generation O program, which gives special discounts and events to the 18-35 crowd. I got ridiculously cheap tickets to this show thanks to them.

The Pearl Fishers has 4 more shows through Oct. 7 at the Kennedy Center. Go see it…it was so good I might go again.

