[UPDATE: This post is new and improved. I have added some captions but I don’t know many of the people’s names. Those who told me their names I promptly forgot. Please please if you know who they are, leave a comment or email me to ID them so I can give credit where credit is due.]

I wanted to get these up quickly… captions and a recap of the event to come.

I apologize for the crappy cell phone pics. Next time I’ll remember to bring my camera!

echo park opening

Cedric Tillman and Kenneth Rascher, with Kelly Mayfield snoozing through their remarks under a table. Cedric is the founder of Echo Park, Kenneth is his partner in crime and interior designer who told me that less than a month ago, there were lowered ceilings, walls, tiled floors, and all other sorts of stuff, that he managed to flip into a beautiful, high-ceilinged, light filled space with an urban/shabby/chic/homey/artistic sort of vibe. Kelly wasn’t really sleeping, just preparing a nice segue into her company Contradiction Dance’s performance after the welcoming remarks. I really enjoyed the reception and thought the remarks and entertainment flowed together really nicely.

echo park opening

A magician warms up the crowd (last name was London…can’t remember the first). Enoch Chan photography adorns the walls.

bad boys of dance at echo park opening

OMG. Three of the Bad Boys of Dance y’all. Unfortunately, Rasta Thomas was sick. Also unfortunately, I had to leave for my own dance rehearsal before they performed. If you saw them, please let me know how they were in the comments section.

echo park opening

Kenneth and Kelly. It was great to meet Kelly, one of my dance blogosphere friends (of kk’s world and Contradiction Dance) in person.

echo park opening

Part of the lounge area. I think it has a nice homey feel to it. Critic George Jackson is in this photo. I had a nice conversation with him about writing about dance. There was a great turnout to the opening and a good cross section of folks from the dance and arts communities, as well as from Takoma Park. I met a nice journalist from the local paper named Julie (who was taking pictures) and a member of the city council who stopped by.

echo park opening

Band that played during the reception. If anyone knows who these guys are let me know so I can give them credit.